Skip to content

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap vs PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap

Which chip does each one read, and what does the wall cost?

Neither has an app, and both keep the neighbor’s cat out. The differences are narrow and they are the ones that matter.

SureFlap microchip cat flap in white

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap

8.2/10

Wins 4 of 8

Check price

≈ $135

PetSafe microchip cat flap with four locking modes

PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap

7.0/10

Wins 3 of 8

Check price

≈ $110

One row at a time

Compared on Microchip Cat Flap Microchip Cat Flap
Chip standards Microchip or SureFlap RFID tag 15-digit chips
Pets stored Not stated Up to 40
Battery 4 × AA, up to 12 months Not stated
Locking modes Four Four
Sealing Not stated Energy seals, twin magnetic points
Tunnel extenders Sold separately, 50 mm (1.97 in) each Not stated
Collar-tag fallback Yes, sold separately Not stated
Price Around half as much again The cheaper of the two
Listed on amazon.com Yes Yes

A tick marks the better answer on that line only. Counting ticks does not decide the page — the two verdicts below do, because these machines answer different questions.

Which of the two, for which animal

Buy the Microchip Cat Flap

Take the SureFlap if your cat’s chip might be awkward, or if the flap is going through a wall. The collar-tag fallback and the published tunnel system are what make an installation solvable rather than a gamble.

Buy the Microchip Cat Flap

Take the PetSafe if the chip is a modern 15-digit one and the flap is going into a door. It does the same core job for noticeably less, and the weather seals are a genuine advantage on an exterior door.

The questions owners ask

How do I find out which chip my cat has?

Ask a vet to read it, or look at the registration paperwork. Fifteen digits is FDX-B and works with both flaps; a 9 or 10-digit number is an older standard that the PetSafe does not list.

What if the flap will not read the chip?

Chips migrate and some sit deep. SureFlap sells an RFID collar tag for exactly that case at a tenth of the price of a new door — which is why it is the safer choice when the chip is unknown.

The full page on both

  • SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap

    Microchip · 4 × AA · up to 12 months of battery · 4 locking modes

    The plain SureFlap: it reads your cat’s chip, keeps the neighbor’s cat out, runs a year on four AA cells, and has no app at all. It is the one most households actually need.

    Best for: One or two cats, a wooden door, and no interest in an app — which describes most homes.

    8.2/10

    ≈ $135

  • PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap

    15-digit chips · up to 40 pets · 4 manual modes · weather seals

    The cheapest microchip flap here apart from the Cat Mate, reading 15-digit chips for up to 40 animals, with four manual locking modes and double magnetic closing points.

    Best for: A first microchip flap on a budget, where the cat’s chip is a modern 15-digit one.

    7.0/10

    ≈ $110